The New Black – “Permanent Ink” A BlankTV World Premiere!

The New Black

In 2001, singer/songwriter Danny McDonough and guitarist Gabriel Hurley began writing music together during their junior year at St. Joseph’s High School located in Metuchen, NJ. Once they had the final band members in place, their band Self Denial grew a strong following playing local shows.
In 2006, after their high school and college years, Danny and Gabe regrouped under the name The New Black and began writing music for their first EP entitled ‘Within a Dream’ in 2008. Their song “The Light” earned them national media attention on radio and TV, which led to some national touring.
The New Black soon became known as an edgy, fresh new modern rock band with catchy, soaring vocals, spectacular guitar playing, as well as their incredibly energetic live performances. The sky was the limit and their future was bright.
Unfortunately, that all changed on June 18, 2009 when guitarist Gabriel Hurley was involved in a horrific car crash. Over the next few years, Gabe underwent many surgeries and rehabilitation, but the most important part of his recovery was his ability to still play music. Gabe started playing guitar in sixth grade, never knowing the instrument would one day help him recover from a devastating accident.
While Gabe continued to recover, The New Black began to write and record their second EP in 2011 entitled ‘Falling Forward’. Their single “Daybreak” received regular airplay on both local and internet radio stations and continued to support national touring acts.
In January 2018 with the help of producer/engineer Jake Antelis, the album “Coming Home” was completed and released on December 18, 2018. They also released their first hit single and video “Change the World” which sends an incredible message of unity among us all. The song received national attention throughout all social media platforms. In February of 2019, their second single and video “Permanent Ink” was released. The song showed another side of the bands talents with a harder, more up-tempo sound.
The New Black is rounded out with Eddie Tuberion on bass, Kamran Vaziri on drums, and Dan Downing on guitars. Be on the lookout for them soon in a city near you!

Like us? Please take a moment to consider supporting us on Patreon!